Karl Hyde on BBC’s 6Mix with Dave Pearce [Interview]

Published: by Khouri.

Dave Pearce and Karl Hyde

Underworld’s Karl Hyde joined Dave Pearce last Sunday for a special edition of 6 Mix on BBC 6. In the course of the two-hour programme, Karl and Dave discussed the sights and sounds that fed into the development of “Barking”, the new Underworld album that’s on sale now. Among the many interesting anecdotes, Karl and the boys from Orbital took in a mental Aphex Twin show, ¬†Karl once pretended not to like disco for fear of being attacked, and “Between Stars” was a track initiated by Underworld Live member Darren Price.

Additionally, Pearce played a number of records from Karl’s prodigious collection, each with commentary by Karl, including three songs from Underworld’s performance at Creamfields in 2002.

  1. Underworld – “Grace”
  2. Rhythm is Rhythm – “Strings of Life”
  3. Donna Summer – “I Feel Love”
  4. Freeez – “Iou”
  5. Malcolm McLaren – “Buffalo Girls”
  6. Orbital – “Chime”
  7. LTJ Bukem – “Horizon”
  8. Pierre’s Pfantasy Club – “Dream Girl”
  9. Aphex Twin – “Window Licker”
  10. Hercules and Love Affair – “Blind (Frankie Knuckles Remix)”
  11. Mark Knight & D. Ramirez Vs. Underworld – “Downpipe”
  12. Underworld – “Between Stars”
  13. High Contrast – “Lovesick”
  14. Hardfloor – “Acperience”
  15. Mr. Fingers – “Can You Feel It”
  16. Underworld – “Two Months Off (Live at Creamfields, August 2002)”
  17. Underworld – “Pearls’ Girl (Live at Creamfields, August 2002)”
  18. Underworld – “Born Slippy .NUXX (Live at Creamfields, August 2002)”

The show is well worth your time, so head over to BBC and listen to 6 Mix with Dave Pearce and Karl Hyde before next Sunday, after which it will no longer be available.