borndirty

Go Back   Dirty Forums > moments.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31  
Old 11-13-2018, 10:08 PM
TheBang TheBang is offline
Admaxistrator
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Sunny Hawaii
Posts: 4,077
Default Re: VIDEO UPLOADED!- UW Live Rijksmuseum 2017 UWV-001 (VIDEO)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheBang View Post
Thanks, Matt. I looked over the 30 fps Facebook video, and it actually has a 25 fps signal inside. The frames are encoded in the following repeating cadence: ABCDEE

So, one second of video would look like this:

ABCDEE FGHIJJ KLMNOO PQRSTT UVWXYY

So, if you drop the duplicated frames, you end up with a smooth 25 fps. So, hopefully your software dropped the correct frames when converting to 25 fps, otherwise, there's going to be some judder. I'll take a look at what happened with your encode once I've finished downloading it.
So, the bad news is that the software resolved the 30 fps to 25 fps conversion by blending frames (blending two frames into one). Which would have been fine if it had blended the duplicate frames (two identical frames blended into one would have looked exactly the same). Unfortunately, it did not choose those, so instead you get a lot of frames that have ghosting artifacts. This is especially apparent on fast moves. I've attached an example of what the ghosting looks like on a single frame. (The vpro footage came out perfect, btw.)

Unfortunately, I'm not sure how to designate the correct cadence to Vegas, or if it can even do it. This will require more research.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	VLCScreenSnapz001.png
Views:	22
Size:	435.2 KB
ID:	419  
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 11-13-2018, 11:02 PM
Badger Badger is offline
pants
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 284
Default Re: UPLOADED! - NEW UPGRADE - 2017-10-20 Rijksmuseum, Amsterdam AUDIO and VIDEO

ok ...right I think Ive got a code line that I can use with ffmpeg to remove the duplicate frames...I'll put up a small clip from this convert if you can check it?

the line code is : ffmpeg -i input.mkv -vf decimate=cycle=6,setpts=N/25/TB output.mkv
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 11-13-2018, 11:48 PM
Badger Badger is offline
pants
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 284
Default Re: UPLOADED! - NEW UPGRADE - 2017-10-20 Rijksmuseum, Amsterdam AUDIO and VIDEO

Here is the link for the 4min test clip of the new convert....could you have a look at this The Bang and see if this looks ok and correct?

https://www.dropbox.com/s/4e1vikw8u6...utx01.mp4?dl=0
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 11-15-2018, 01:52 PM
Badger Badger is offline
pants
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 284
Default Re: UPLOADED! - NEW UPGRADE - 2017-10-20 Rijksmuseum, Amsterdam AUDIO and VIDEO

Todd, you get a chance to check this new clip?
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 11-15-2018, 03:34 PM
TheBang TheBang is offline
Admaxistrator
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Sunny Hawaii
Posts: 4,077
Default Re: UPLOADED! - NEW UPGRADE - 2017-10-20 Rijksmuseum, Amsterdam AUDIO and VIDEO

Yes, it looks good. I'll send you an e-mail to follow up on a couple things to do.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 11-15-2018, 04:28 PM
Badger Badger is offline
pants
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 284
Default Re: UPLOADED! - NEW UPGRADE - 2017-10-20 Rijksmuseum, Amsterdam AUDIO and VIDEO

Ok cool, thanks
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 11-15-2018, 04:30 PM
Badger Badger is offline
pants
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 284
Default Re: UPLOADED! - NEW UPGRADE - 2017-10-20 Rijksmuseum, Amsterdam AUDIO and VIDEO

I can get to work on it this weekend then if you give me those pointers
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 11-16-2018, 11:06 AM
stimpee stimpee is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3,620
Default Re: UPLOADED! - NEW UPGRADE - 2017-10-20 Rijksmuseum, Amsterdam AUDIO and VIDEO

I am seeding the audio for this.
__________________
UW0764 || Professor: "Underworld have never failed to disappoint me" || Yannick changed my avatar picture.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 11-16-2018, 11:31 AM
Badger Badger is offline
pants
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 284
Default Re: UPLOADED! - NEW UPGRADE - 2017-10-20 Rijksmuseum, Amsterdam AUDIO and VIDEO

Just did a bit more digging and when you use the filters in ffmpeg (like the decimate filter) it re-encodes the video.

Thats a bit annoying as that will lose a bit of quality and then i'll have to re-encode again when putting the pieces together in Vegas.

Not sure there is a way round this. After a bit of research it doesnt appear like you can remove duplicate frames without re-encoding.

Any one else have some video editing knowledge of maybe another way of dealing with this?

(getting the 30FPS video down to the correct 25FPS and without losing quality)??
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.