Now playing on dirty.radio: Loading...

Dirty Forums > static.

Old 09-21-2009, 10:33 PM
adam
blue

"yeah, but i only as i pedalled past him"
For a few years after I graduated high school, I still lived at home with my parents. We had moved to the neighboring town from the one I grew up in, the one all my friends lived in. It was about a fifteen minute drive between the two.
My first car was a 1979 Impala, a car that felt as wide as an aircraft carrier and about as heavy. I've had more powerful cars, but none that hurtled through space quite like that one did. I would drive out to see my friends and my girlfriend nearly every night, and there were these wonderful back roads you could take between the towns where it was unusual to see other cars at the hours of night I'd be returning home. The back roads were a bit of a gamble in that there was a train crossing that you had to deal with, whereas if you took the highway there was an overpass and you would never be stuck staring at a freight train moving slowly in front of you (or worse, stopping right in front of you). But I preferred the back roads because of the wide open darkness of them; farmer's fields to the left and right, no cars, few houses, few lights.
I had my first serious girlfriend around this time. We saw each other for just short of four years, and between trips to her house, and to see my friends, that was a lot of back-and-forths on those back roads. When our relationship ended, I spent a lot of time thinking about what the past few years had been like, and it struck me that those night drives were maybe one of the most important, valuable things of that time of my life. And that struck me as an interesting notion, something to think about with regards to value, because the context for these drives was that there were not important, they were the in-between bits that were necessary to get to the important moments. Supposedly.