View Single Post
Old 11-27-2008, 10:49 PM
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Sunny Hawaii
Posts: 4,487
Re: New Underworld Remix?
Here's the original press release for the soundtrack:



The Chemical Brothers, The Atari Babies, Groove Armada and Spitfire Among Artists Who Join Paul Oakenfold on Soundtrack

(November 3, 2008- Los Angeles, CA) – Lakeshore Records will release the soundtrack for NOBEL SON, available via iTunes and Amazon Digital on September 30th and in stores on November 11th 2008. The soundtrack contains original music composed by Paul Oakenfold with songs by The Chemical Brothers, The Atari Babies, Groove Armada, and Spitfire.

The career of Paul Oakenfold reads like the résumé of a true Renaissance man. Born in London and formally trained as a chef, Paul’s early career includes stints as an A&R consultant (signing the likes of Salt N Pepa, DJ Jazzy Jeff and Will Smith), a studio whiz (producing the Happy Mondays 1991 breakout album), and remix artist to the stars (re-working tracks by Madonna, Michael Jackson, U2, and The Rolling Stones among others). Today, Paul splits his time between traveling to the most exotic of locales as the world’s most famous DJ and ensconcing himself in a studio hard at work on his next musical project. He has also enjoyed success venturing into the world of composing for film, television, and video games. Noteworthy credits include music for the films Swordfish, The Matrix Reloaded, Die Another Day, Planet of the Apes, The Bourne Identity, Shrek II, and the James Bond-inspired video game Goldeneye: Rogue Agent.

Barkley Michaelson (Bryan Greenberg) is in a deep life rut. He’s struggling to finish his PhD thesis when his father, the learned Eli Michaelson (Alan Richman), wins the Nobel Prize for Chemistry. Barkley and his mother Sarah (Mary Steemburgen), a renowned forensic psychiatrist, now have the ill-fortune of living with a man-eating monster whose philandering ways have gotten less and less discreet. As if Barkley’s word isn’t bad enough, on the eve of his father receiving the Nobel, Barkley is kidnapped and the requested ransom is the $2,000,000 in Nobel Prize money. Needless to say, Eli refuses to pay it and so starts a venomous tale of family dysfunction, lust, betrayal and ultimately revenge. In the words of Michael de Montaigne, the 16th Century philosopher, “There is more barbarity in eating a man alive than in eating him dead.” The film also stars Shawn Hatosy, Bill Pullman, Danny DeVito, Ted Danson, and Eliza Dushku.

Gimme Five Productions and Prama Corporation present an Unclaimed Freight Production, NOBEL SON in theaters on October 3, 2008. NOBEL SON original soundtrack on Lakeshore Records will be available via iTunes and Amazon Digital on September 30th and in stores on November 11th.

Track listing
01. Nobel Son – Spitfire
02. Just One Of Those Things (Brazilian Girls Remix) - Blossom Dearie
03. Let Me Be Real - Bad Apples
04. Feed Your Mind (Underworld Remix) – Oakenfold ft. Spitfire
05. Come Inside – The Chemical Brothers
06. Hum - Groove Armada
07. So Clear - Emjay and The Atari Babies
08. Thumb Time – Paul Oakenfold
09. Building Minis – Paul Oakenfold
10. Intro – Paul Oakenfold
11. Roasted Pig – Paul Oakenfold
12. Bumpy Flight Home – Paul Oakenfold
13. Screwing Around – Paul Oakenfold
14. Barkley’s Desire – Paul Oakenfold


For more information contact:
Given that they name-drop all the other artists, it's probably just the name of the remix, like Jan says, and Spitfire is most likely the remixer.

Edit: OK, well, Spitfire is actually featured on the original version of the track. So I dunno. If it is remixed by Underworld, I don't know why it wouldn't be mentioned in the press release, or elsewhere. The movie was completed last year, which is also when Oakenfold was touring with Underworld in America, so maybe he asked them for a favor then?

Did you buy the physical album? If so, is there anything in the liner notes?

You can listen to the full track here:

Last edited by TheBang; 11-27-2008 at 11:02 PM.