PDA

View Full Version : Guitarists on Dirty

nosajmunson
09-14-2008, 11:57 AM
Don't know if this is the best place to start this thread but.....

Today's picture and story on UWlive got me thinking. What other guitarist are on dirty/dark train?
http://www.underworldlive.com/home/mainColumnParagraphs/00/content_files/file0/090814a.jpg

Thought we could share thoughts on gear, stories about our guitars and guitar wishlists. As well as styles, riffs, effects, etc.

If everyone thinks this is silly, then just delete this thread. But if not, add to it.
__________________________________________________ ___________

I have been playing guitar since 1990. My first one was a crappy Harmony Electric guitar my folks got for me at Service Merchandise. But I fell in love with playing almost instantly. After about a year of playing everyday for at least an hour, I had saved up enough to buy my first real Guitar, a Fender Stratocaster.

Currently, I still have my Strat and that Harmony(although I don't play it anymore).

My main electric guitars now are:
- Ibanez Iceman IC 400
- Gibson SG Special
- Fender Stagemaster Custom

So what is everyone else playing?

esaias
09-14-2008, 05:26 PM
My babies are:

Fender Jaguar '74
Fender Tele Deluxe '74
Rickenbacker 330

various amps but nothing too fancy

...and I am a lousy and lazy player :/ I really should spend more time playing

-Tomi

nosajmunson
09-14-2008, 07:04 PM
A Fender Jaguar '74, damn, that's sweet.

I play mostly heavier stuff. Drop D Tuning, or just straight D. My Iceman is tuned to C. But I wish I had a more melodic guitar, like a Fender Jaguar, for the not so "Metal" stuff I play.
But my Strat is always tuned to E. On my strat, I have an inverted/upside down single coil pick-up that gives it this raunchy punch. Makes blues sound dirty and nasty. Like bad burbon at a cheap strip joint nasty.

Tele's are sweet. I recorded with a Tele Standard a few years ago.